Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking or dressing should not be taught. To what do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that skill-based education should be abolished for students to make way for knowledge-based skills in order to pass exams. It seems to me that although passing exams demands more academic knowledge, not everyone can be as academically gifted as their peers.

The primary reason why I strongly disagree with this opinion is the fact that not everyone is qualified in terms of academic skills, whereas their practical and technical abilities are more developed. Depriving students of such educational opportunities would put them in a more disadvantaged position compared to others. Furthermore, those abilities can support people with lower incomes to cope with any financial struggles. For instance, especially in some developing countries, many students depend on vocational and practical skills to avoid unemployment due to limited academic opportunities.

On the other hand, one of the things that is worth mentioning is the new job market and some educational requirements. In the contemporary period, employers often prefer people with experience and practical competencies instead of students who only perform well in exams. Moreover, the main issue stems from the fact that examinations fail to fully capture students’ mental and intellectual capacities. For example, some of the most prestigious universities and scholarships in Europe are actually looking for people who have more hands-on experience and uncommon hobbies and abilities.

To summarize, although passing exams may enhance the background and GPA of a student to a certain extent, it seems reasonable to have more real-life exposure and better qualifications.