Some people believe that healthcare should be free for all, while others argue that individuals should pay for their medical treatments. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Health is universally accepted as an important part of people’s lives. While some people believe that individuals should not pay for healthcare, others think it is better when it is not free.

On the one hand, there are a lot of benefits of free healthcare system. In developing countries, people from middle and lower classes are not able to afford basic healthcare. If government provides free healthcare, all people regardless of their status, can use free healthcare. Therefore, inequality rate can be decreased because all people have similar basic human rights. In addition, people from poorer backgrounds can neglect both serious and minor health problems, most time due to lack of money. Free healthcare can give opportunities for these people who do not care about themselves, which lead to improving overall well being of population.

On the other hand, people should be responsible for their lives. When people need to spend their own money on their health, they try to prevent illness before treating it and they take care of their health. Furthermore there are some people who can overuse these free services. When medical services are free, people tend to visit hospitals even for minor issues which do not require urgent care. As they do not have to pay for it, there is no reason to limit their visits. As a result, medicam staff need to overwork and truli ill patients might not receive care on time.

In my opinion, government should implement mixed system. For emergency situations healthcare should be free, but individuals need to pay for preventative care. In that case both sides government and population will benefit.

In conclusion, although free healthcare can lead to reducing inequality and healthier population, it can also be reason of neglectful attitude of one’s helth and misusing services. Therefore, mixed system, where people pay for preventive care, not for urgent situations, can be more beneficial.