Some people believe that higher education should be free for all students. Others believe that students should pay for their education. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In contemporary society, there is an ongoing debate about whether students should be paying for their university programmes or the government should remove tuition fees. This essay will explore both sides of the argument before presenting a considered opinion, advocating that a balanced approach will be an ideal pathway for the nation’s long-term stability and innovation.

Advocates for the mandatory fees believe that it ensures the financial development of various institutes and private universities. Primarily, developing nations cannot afford yearly free courses which could further impact the economic well-being of the society. Secondly, enrollment charges are further invested in the upliftment of universities and colleges for providing innovative teaching measures to the students. A 2002 study by Oxford university shows a twenty percent rise in educational franchises in developing nations from the various tuition costs.

Conversely, others argue that introducing free education will bridge the knowledge gap between the various sectors of the society. Additionally, young learners from disadvantaged backgrounds cannot afford high joining fees and various costs involved in the semesters. Furthermore, literacy rate in low income families can easily be eradicated by introducing such measures. For instance, a 2007 study by Harvard University reflected a fifty percent rise in Syria’s economic sector when numerous free universities were manufactured by the government.

In my opinion, a judicious approach, one where education is available for everyone in the nation irrespective of their income or living standards but also maintaining the government funds for overall development will shed light on the critical facets of this surging issue. Educational authorities can introduce various free courses for individuals living under the poverty line while maintaining a holistic development.