Some people believe that history has no value in the contemporary world. But some believe that we still need history to learn from the past. Discuss both viewpoints and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The value of history in the contemporary world is a topic that elicits diverse viewpoints. One side argues that history has no relevance in our modern society, while the rest are of the opinion that it is an indispensible lesson of the past. In my opinion, learning from history can guide us through the complexities of life, and must not be passed off as irrelevant.

To begin with, those who are of the opinion that history has nothing to offer in the present rapid pace of technological and societal changes believe that the past has become too outdated to offer any valuable input on current-day problems. For instance, historical events, such as wars, which happened in a world without the internet, artificial intelligence and other advanced technology would have played out very differently if they were to occur now.

On the other hand, proponents of the importance of history claim that it provides a wealth of lessons. They contend that understanding history helps us avoid repeating mistakes of the past. For example, the Spanish Flu, which started a century before COVID-19, helped public health officials come up with strategies such as social distancing and mask-wearing, both of which have been crucial in managing the spread of the virus. Similarly, studying the causes of past wars can help diplomats in formulating strategies to avoid future conflicts.

In conclusion, while the past may seem distant and unimportant to some, I strongly believe that it presents us with insights into society that cannot be brushed aside. Although it is true that the past does not provide a direct roadmap for the future, we can always use the learnings from it to inform our decisions and make better choices.