Some people believe that hobbies need to be difficult to be enjoyable. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While some hobbies are relatively easy, others present more of a challenge. Personally, I find both types of hobby fun, and I therefore do not share the sentiment that only difficult hobbies are enjoyable.

On the one hand, it is understandable why many state that hobbies need to be difficult in order to be enjoyable. When an activity is more difficult to master, it can keep people interested, stop them from dropping off, and avoid boredom. For instance, some activities like mountaineering and surfing are deemed difficult, as to master them necessitates long periods of commitment and high-intensity training. When the pursuers of such hobbies achieve higher levels of proficiency, they are able to conquer higher mountains or ride bigger waves, which naturally leads to a sense of accomplishment and satisfaction.

On the other hand, easy hobbies can be as enjoyable as difficult ones. Since one’s hobbies depend on his own interest, many people can find an easy and simple activity, which does not require special skills, fun and regard it as their hobby. One good example of an activity that is easy for most people is running, which requires very little equipment and can be simply pursued by almost all. In addition, easy hobbies are usually less expensive than challenging ones; therefore, they often attract more people. This means that when people take up an easy hobby, they are likely to meet more friends who share similar interests, which can raise their levels of pleasure.

In conclusion, I do not believe that only difficult hobbies can be pleasurable as each type has its own attraction.