Some people believe that individuals are responsible for protecting the environment, while others think it is the government's concern. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some think that environmental conservation is the responsibility of people, while others believe authorities should take charge to safeguard the environment. While individuals can make a small difference in solving some environmental issues, I mostly agree that government can have more influence on protection of nature.

On the one hand, general population can contribute partially to reduce environmental harm using less plastic. Thus, nowadays everything from packaged items to technological devices are produced from plastic and this causes to increase the amount of non-biodegradable waste on Earth. For example, they can substitute plastic bags or bottles with possible alternatives: glass, paper. Consequently, this can decrease fatality rate of certain sea animals including sharks and dolphins which die millions every year from marine plastic pollution.

On the other hand, I suppose that government has bigger impact on contribution. Firstly, it can foster to mitigate environmental consequences with the use of legislative power. Thus, implementing harsh laws gives access it to control over animal protection in certain areas illegal hunting widespread. African countries clearly illustrate this point after putting into action fines and penalties with the amount of 50000$ or lifelong imprisonment for hunting for elephant tusks and rhino horns. Since then, the number of poachers in these zones have plummeted and they nearly stopped hunting that endangered animals. Another factor is that governing bodies can tackle the problem when they use their financial capacity. This is because, allocating enough money to green policies such as planting trees and building eco parks or promoting biodiversity allow them to build sustainable environment for future generation in coming years. We can take Uzbekistan as an example in this field, as government of the country has planted thousands of trees in the areas bordering the dried Aral Sea. And this is protecting certain communities who live on the former coastline of the sea during winds carrying the harmful particles of salt and sand.

In conclusion, even though many people believe that a single individual can affect positively with their efforts, I think authorities of countries are greater influence to conserve nature.