Some people believe that international travel is harmful to the environment and should be limited. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Worldwide travel can be damaging to the ecosystem according to many people’s views, and therefore should be restricted. Despite the fact that it may appear to damage nature, in many developing countries tourism assists environmental protection instead of destroying the world. I personally believe that tourism does not harm the earth, but opposite, it helps working on global issues together.

On the one hand, many people argue that travelling around the world harms the environment due to its significant ecological impact. Aviation is considered a carbon-intensive industry, and air travel contributes to global warming, especially when atmospheric effects are taken into account. In addition, the tourism sector as a whole generates many greenhouse gas emissions through transportation, accommodation, and increased consumption. Mass tourism has also played a crucial role in popular destinations. Cities such as Venice and Barcelona have environmental stress, such as increased waste production, water consumption, and air pollution in overcrowded areas. In addition, long-haul air travel results in significant carbon dioxide emissions per passenger, which in some countries can be comparable to the annual carbon footprint of one person. As a result, international travel increases emissions, damages ecosystems, and accelerates climate change. Thus, some believe that restricting it could help reduce environmental pressure.

On the other hand, many people believe that sustainable tourism exists, and in some countries it is supported by environmental conservation organizations. Firstly, aviation is not the major global contributor to the climate change because energy production and heavy industry have a much greater impact on the earth. Secondly, world-travelling supports economic development, especially in developing countries. In some regions, tourism revenue funds environmental protection and conservation. For instance, in Costa Rica , around 28% of land is protected, partly funded by tourism revenue. So, the main problem is not travel itself but overconsumption and frequent luxury flights.

In conclusion, International travel does not have environmental consequences, but overconsumption and private jet flights globally affect the environment. Therefore, banning or limiting worldwide travel would be inefficient, and moreover it would be economically harmful and socially restrictive. In my opinion, the productive strategy there would involve responsible tourism and environmental regulation rather than prohibition.