Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries. Do you agree or disagree?

There are certain Individuals that think young people should be taught using the literary text of their own countries as opposed to the text from other nations. While I completely understand the need to learn ones own culture and history through local literature. I feel that in this modern & rapidly globalising world there is much merit in the learnings that one can acquire from foreign authors as well.

In most cases there is a treasure trove of information in the books of ones own country, learnings and wisdom that have been passed on through generations is captured in these texts and we should learn and be proud of our heritage, although one must not only blindly rely on them as the world has changed a lot over the past few hundred years and sometimes there is great knowledge in foreign literature for instance knowledge about Vedic maths in books from India is great for kids learning to count and multiply and makes learning fun, information that is relevant for children across the world.

In this fast paced world where immigration and multiculturalism is spreading faster that before it is essential that we respect the cultures of all the citizens in a country which might require the schools to teach using books from all over the world, furthermore isolationism with regard to learnings will only create further divides between people but if at a young age children are exposed to the nuances of diverse learnings they will learn to respect others more.

In conclusion, because of the above reason I disagree with the sentiments of people that emphasize the policy that it is more essential to teach kids the young adults the literature of ones won country over other countries.