Some people believe that it is more important to teach children the literature of their own country than other countries. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that it is more relevant teaching juvenile learners the literature of their country, rather than teaching them the literature of foreign countries. In my view, children truely benefit from learning about other countries through their literary contexts. This essay aims to examine wheter it’s important acconding its advantages and disadvantages.

On the one hand, teaching about the literature of other countries provides many benefits regarding the general culture of these learners. As learning about literacy brings a set of other important topics and notions, for instance, learning about France’s literature not only leads to learning about its notable figures, but also results in learning about its history, geography and characteristics. Furthermore, this specific educational system allows the students to widen their view of the world leading to more acceptance, comprehension and tolerance. For example, Understanding a nation’s literature spiritually closens individuals leading to an increased acceptance between these nations.

On the other hand, allocating time to teach the literary contexts of foreign countries to juveniles contributes to blur their vision regarding their own country’s literature, especially for very young learners due to the significant amount and variety of information. This can be further illustrated by the fact that many studies state that children’s capability of assimilation is lowered when there are numerous and different subjects. Moreover, teaching children the literature of other nations may fragilize their relation with their own country.

In conclusion, numerous individuals disagree with the teaching of foreign literature to children, however, it presents many benefits and advantages for both children and nations. In my view, it is still important and relevant to transmit this type of information to juveniles.