Some people believe that modern technology is making people more sociable, while others think it is making them less sociable. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many individuals declare that people can become more sociable due to modern technological developments, while others argue with the opposite viewpoint. I firmly believe in the latter viewpoint because users may over depend on social media instead of sharpening their communication skills in reality.

On the one hand, people can be more sociable due to technological development because it provides various useful communication tools. Nowadays, diverse types of smartphones and social media platforms have been developed and published to bridge the gap between strangers and tighten users’ private relationships. They can utilize it to make new friends through friend suggestion sections or keep in touch with their relatives by adding them to their friend lists. Additionally, they can communicate with others through texting and calling features without any distant and time barriers. As a result, it aids people to become more sociable. For example, people can use Facebook or Instagram to build new relationships and maintain the close ones through various valuable features of those apps.

Nevertheless, individuals may damage their social skills if they depend on social media platforms. In this day and age, despite various communication devices are useful for socializing, users may overuse it without effort for interacting with the world around them physically. Specifically, people can connect with others on those platforms via chatting or commenting sections, which are easier compared to building a solid relationship in real life. In addition, making friends on the Internet does not require many important communication factors such as eye-contact or physical touches. Consequently, people may do not have enough chance to practice and enhance their communication abilities in real life scenarios, causing a stop or decline in those skills. For example, many American youngster have a low quality of communication skills due to the social media dependence, making them hard to maintain a healthy relationship with their families.

To sum up, modern technology does support their users to become more sociable since it provides more tools to connect with others. However, if people overuse without attempting to communicate with others in reality, their social skills will be damaged due a lack of practice.