Some people believe that parents should be strict with their children, while others think they should give them more freedom.

While some consider being strict as a parent is a necessary part of disciplining children, others believe it may on the contrary have a negative effect on relationships between parents and children. I personally think that a healthy balance is needed to nurture a child, and sometimes strictness is appropriate.

On the one hand, being strict as a parent is necessary when learning children discipline and subordination. It is crucial, especially for young parents, to nurture a feeling of respect in their children from the early age that can be seen through their willingness to obey parents and that can be achieved by using strict rules, for example never raising a voice at a parent. However, in my opinion hypercontrol can, vice versa, worsen the bond between parents and a child, if it is intense to such an extent that child has no freedom or choice.

On the other hand, being too soft may result in children disrespecting their parents openly because they are certain no punishment would follow. Despite that, parents who are not as stern as others tend to develop closer relationship with their children as it is built on trust and mutual respect rather than fear. For example, in such families children feel less scared to open up to their parents, as they know they will get supported as opposed to punished.

In conclusion, strict parenting teaches respect and subordination, however when it reaches the point of hypercontrol, children may distance themsleves from parents while parents who are softer tend to develop a stronger bond with their children, despite the possibility of them disrespecting their parents. As far as I am concerned, a balance should be maintained in order to raise children and develop a healthy relationship with them.