Some people believe that printed books are no longer necessary in this digital era as all writings can be stored electronically. Others think that printed books still play an important role. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinions are divided over the importance of printed books in this modern era due to the presence of digital written materials. This essay will provide insights on both viewpoints and further elaborate why the essence of traditional books can be by far more significant than the advancement of digital books.

Granted, there exists a predominant reason to explain why digital books have undermined the role of printed books in this day and age. One major justification would be their convenience. Thanks to the advancement of technological innovations, people now can utilize their digital devices, especially smartphones and tablets, to read books through some reading apps now. This, in turn, makes them no longer need to carry heavy books to read. For example, the “Books” app on the Iphone now can allow readers to access various types of books across the globe through small-screen devices, which encourages people to read more due to their convenience and flexibility. Furthermore, digital versions may be environmentally-friendly alternatives for traditional ones, especially when the manufacturing of physical books calls for the consumption of papers. That otherwise can contribute to deforestation and increase pressure on natural resources.

However, I am more convinced that the existing benefits of traditional books are by far more significant. Although some apps for digital books are free, they have to contain some advertisements to cover some fees for improving and developing their apps. Sudden advertising can disrupt readers’ experience, which consequently makes them lose their concentration as well as become disrupted. Conversely, printed books provide an undisrupted environment without the sudden appearance of advertisements as compared with electronic ones, which allows them to fully enjoy the inner world of these books. Moreover, to publish printed books is likely to require strict procedures for the censorship of content through professional publishers before being released to the public, whereas some governments may find it hard to thoroughly control all the writing records on the internet and various reading apps. For instance, a lack of proper censorship for online content allows young children to be easily exposed to the violent content of some books on the internet. Because the youth are still developing their cognitive abilities, they are easily vulnerable to the violence and aggressiveness in some books. This may have an adverse bearing on their behavior and attitudes, thereby leading to misbehavior among young children. Therefore, the more controlled nature of printed books makes them become more ideal options for many people.

In conclusion, their convenience and affordability make digital books become widespread within society; however, I strongly reaffirm that printed books remain more beneficial overall. Their abilities to provide an undisrupted environment and secure better control over quality make printed versions become more suitable options for individuals and society.