Some people believe that printed books are no longer necessary in this digital era as all writings can be stored electronically. Others think that printed books still play an important role. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A school of thought argues that digital platforms allow all writing to be stored in the cloud-based repositories, therefore, physical books become the inessential things in this era. Meanwhile, other people claim that printed books are still of importance. Although the merits of digital warehouses are valid to some extent, I firmly believe that printed books play an instrumental role in human life.

On the one hand, it is claimed that virtual books are beneficial to accessibility. According to their rationale, since these books can assist users in gaining access to massive volumes of references through social media platforms, they can connect to their valuable libraries on the Internet regardless of their situations. Thanks to this benefit, their levels of satisfaction and engagement in reading books can be improved. However, their view fails to take into account the fact that exposure to digital books can pose a threat to users’ well-being. When these people interact with gadgets’ screens for an extended period, they can eventually lead a sedentary lifestyle. Such a lifestyle can increase the harmful risk of health-related problems, such as eye disorders, vitamin shortages if taking place over a long-term period.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that traditional books can bring superior benefits rather than high-tech approaches. Firstly, traditional books can provide reliable information for users. This is largely because conventional books often experience a series of censorship and verification by official publicity sources, ensuring transparency and accuracy to collect and access. A prime example of this is that Vietnam’s government has implemented many strict regulations about verifying physical books before publishing, which enables authors to check literary errors and eradicate inappropriate ideologies for Vietnamese people. Furthermore, printed books facilitate memorisation and concentration. It is true that when reading physical books, readers can be immersed in their world and atmosphere, which can foster full attention and effectiveness. Meanwhile, digital reading is frequently attached to advertisements and noticeable notifications, distracting readers to gain attention to their reading progress.

In conclusion, although cutting-edge reading can be beneficial in accessibility, printed books are more superior to readers’ experiences and accurate information. Hence, in my view, physical books still exert a profound impact on the digital age.