Some people believe that robots will play an important role in future societies, while others argue that robots might have negative effects on society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Driven by the advances in artificial intelligence, the use of robot technology has been widely spread on many occasions. While advocates believe that it marks social progress and will gain popularity in future, others are concerned that this kind of machine may make human-beings get into terrible trouble. From my perspective, it brings more good than harm.

Automation in manufacturing can significantly increase efficiency and improve productivity. The amount of work an automatic machine can finish in a day is perhaps 100 times as much as a person’s workload. Arduous and repetitive work ranging from the transportation of goods to the operation of assembly can be done automatically, so humans have more time to do creative work and enjoy leisure activities. In addition, the application of robotics can reduce workers’ exposure to various hazards that cause damage to health or pose a risk of injury or death. For instance, in case of a gas blast, robotic counterparts can be sent to the scene of the explosion to carry out dangerous tasks.

On the other hand, there is no doubt that robots may have the potential to generate negative impacts on us. For one thing, it may cause rising unemployment because manpower will be replaced by automatic machines in the workplace, which are not only cost-effective but require nothing but energy. This may upend industrialisation as a whole, widening the gap between the rich and poor. Another concern is that someday robotic machines might equip themselves with high intelligence, thus ruling the world and enslaving humans. However, robots will be unable to become the ruler on Earth just as what some sci-fi movies portray, because have no soul, meaning that the lack of creation and critical thinking restrain them from taking charge of the world.

In conclusion, pressured by the shortage of manual labour and propelled by technological development, robots will play a crucial role in the future, which, although they may pose multifaceted risks to our society, should not obscure the benefits of automation.