Some people believe that senior managers should be warm and friendly toward their employees. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The behavior of the senior manager of an office is a very crucial parameter for the success of the employees. The workers tend to work more efficiently if the boss is cordial to them according to many recent studies. Thus, some people believe that senior managers should always be helpful and amiable to their subordinates. Well, I partially agree to this opinion and also believe senior officials need to be cruel sometimes to maintain the discipline of the office. This essay will provide reasons for my stance.

Firstly, good manners are imperative for both the boss and the employees. If the senior official is warm and cordial the workers will feel more connected to their work. Moreover, a good office environment can only be created if both the managers and the employees help each other and behave friendly throughout the office time. Secondly, human beings are by nature social entities. So, they need normal chatting, a friendly atmosphere, and a good boss in work to acclimatize with the work environment. Thirdly, if managers always keep scolding their officers, this will create a negative impact on the minds of the officers. As a result, efficiency of the workers will decline which will affect the company’s performance negatively.

Despite, sometimes managers need to be rigid to their employees. An office cannot run properly if the administration there is not strict and if there is a little amount of discipline. To ensure proper attendance, schedule, work structure and overall performance it is important for the managers to show cold feet sometimes. Furthermore, it is important to define a fine line between the controller and the workers while interacting. Otherwise, it becomes difficult for the office administration to maintain transparency in the office. As it has proved in many circumstances unlawful connection between the boss and the employees is one of the prime reasons for corruption. Besides, sometimes many employees try to harness advantages from their boss by using the cordial relationship.

Yet, there are some offices where higher administration and employees always share good bonding. On the top of that those offices are running smoothly. But these can be done only in certain offices like an ad firm or a book shop. For the corporate or the government offices a certain distance between the boss and the employees are necessary.

In conclusion, senior officials can always be beneficial for their employees. They are the protector of their workers. Therefore, they must behave properly with their worker while ensuring certain amount of rigidity.