Some people believe that television programmes are of no real value for children. How far do you agree or disagree?

TV has many programs such as action, drama, comedy, horor as well as cartoon for children, TV has something for everyone regardless of their age. Almost everyone watch TV daily and it is an important part of their daily routine so the more shows that are produced for children the more that TV takes their attention away form daily necessaries.

Those who agree with the point that television shows are of no value for toddlers have a number of reasons to support their point of view. To begin with, they could observe that children’s routines are being disrupted by the constant watching of TV leading the children to neglect their school work and physical activity such as participation in sports. Excessively watching TV will cause a spiralling effect in shorting the children’s attention span that could result in a noticeable drop in their overall grades. Some TV programs could have inappropriate images that will impact their upbringing. Some kids like to copy what they see on television so they might copy a wrestling, crime shows and end up hurting themselves as well as others.

However, the opponents of this point feel like with a correct amount of parental supervision, TV could be very useful for children’s development. Most importantly, some TV channels are dedicated to making educational programs that will teach kids helpful skills about language, nature, art and craft and many others. Thus, watching educational shows can encourage a child to be more creative, social and intelligent. TV can sometimes babysit the children while their parents need some time away wheather to cook or clean as well as TV could a reason for the family to bond together. Trouble makers would clam down once they hear their favourite show is playing on TV and will not move a muscle while they are watching.

To conclude with, television programs are very entertaining especially for children and can be helpful in improving and building their character. However, moderation and parental guidance is essential in maximising the benefits of TV shows. Watching TV must feel like a reward for the children if only they do their homework first.