Some people believe that television programmes are of no real value for children. How far do you agree or disagree?

Television programmes are often criticized for offering little or no value to the young generation. I firmly accept this criticism as a valid perspective, as watching TV shows does not help children gain beneficial knowledge. Furthermore, there are numerous health risks of engaging with TV shows excessively, particularly for kids.

Most movies and programmes shown on television serve as an entertainment medium for television viewers. Many shows and programmes on TV are distraction-oriented and lead many children to waste their substantial time watching television all day. This is because most people naturally enjoy their time when they are satisfied with an activity they are involved in, such as eating their favourite ice cream, playing their favourite video games or other rewarding activities. However, achieving an enhanced quality of life requires significant time and effort, much like performing near-impossible tasks. Consequently, children may hinder their own development from building a strong path for an improved quality of life, instead, they regularly distract themselves with instant rewarding activities due to the neglect of parental involvement in this situation.

Moreover, children’s overall health is equally important, as excessive television consumption can negatively affect their behaviour and pose potential health risks. Televisions, along with devices like smartphones and personal computers all share similar screen characteristics that are widely used by children today. Television shows are created by rapid flashes of light on the screen, which combine to form moving images. Watching television for a long time significantly impacts one’s eye negatively, as it is somewhat equal to staring at the sun too much. It is not solely about the influence of TV show topics on one’s mentality, but also concerns its impact on physical health. This factor pushes the public to summarize that television programmes are not useful for the young generation, rather, they harm children both mentally and physically.

In conclusion, I share similar concerns as the individuals who argue that television programmes offer no value for children. My concerns stem from severe negative influences on children’s early development stage. Additionally, parents should pay more attention to their children by limiting their access to such technological devices.