Some people believe that the best way of learning about life is by listening to the advice of family and friends. Other people believe that the best way of learning about life is through personal experience. Compare advantage of these two different ways of learning about life. Which do you think is preferable? Use specific examples to support your preference.

Learning is a lifelong responsibility that every person should have. As a result, this has sparked an argument over whether people can learn from family and close acquaintances, or solely life experience can cultivate their knowledge. From my perspective, both methods have their own benefits; in this essay, I will present the merits of each perspective while contending my viewpoint.

On the one hand, advocates of family and friends’ role as the best counselors highlight their unfailingly supportive importance and rich experience. Parents are the first teachers of every individual in their entire life, and they also are the people who children can lay the total belief in. Moreover, with a fulfilling experience in facing insurmountable obstacles, parents can help their children in deciding the most suitable option for them and provide a deeper insight into the problem. Therefore, the people who not only never give false suggestion but also are a solid foundation for human’s growth is only family. Furthermore, close friends also contribute significantly to a person’s decision. As family and friends are the closest relationships, they can know clearly about one individual’s characteristics and aptitudes; hence, they can provide tailor-made advice and bring themselves back when they are in the wrong direction.

On the other hand, besides family and friends, personal experience is an indispensable factor in making a person successful. Despite numerous advice gained from precious acquaintances, human is the only entity that can truly know themselves. As a result, their self-awareness about past experience is the paramount element in deciding their upcoming path and outcome. For instance, in the transitioning phase to university, while parents can have a profound impact on their child by offering practical and transformative knowledge in choosing majors, only they can opt for the right direction, by analyzing their strengths and weaknesses. Consequently, by automatically making decisions, people can foster their confidence, resilience and have a deeper understanding of themselves.

In conclusion, while parents and friends can offer emotional support and valuable understanding, an individual’s experience is the most effective method for learning about life. Therefore, in order to grasp a comprehensive understanding, a balanced approach should be struke in which, people should take into consideration family and friends’ advice and make their final decision based on their personal experience.