Some people believe that the government should be responsible for crime prevention, while others believe that it is the responsibility of the individual to protect themselves. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is commonly believed that it is the government’s duty to prevent crime, whereas others think that it is individuals’ responsibility to protect themselves and their own rights. In my opinion, I believe that it is essential for both the government and individuals to deter crimes.

On the one hand, many people argue that it is the government’s responsibility to maintain balance in reducing crime because they have all the power, which helps them to force criminals to stop committing crimes. Moreover, the government has laws that can improve public security. In other words, the government can create strict laws for those who commit serious crimes by giving them heavy punishments. For instance, in Malaysia, corporal and capital punishments are given to offenders who commit serious crimes, and this discourages others from committing any form of misdeed. For this reason, I agree that the government is responsible for reducing crime rates.

On the other hand, others think that it is their responsibility to stay away from criminals and not rely on the government. One reason is that some crimes happen because of individuals’ carelessness. For example, sometimes people leave their houses without locking the main door properly, and therefore, it is their responsibility to take care of their homes. Another reason is that the government cannot be with everyone all the time, so people have to learn some types of martial arts, namely Karate or Judo so as to protect themselves from criminals, especially when they walk alone most of the time. Owing to this, I also agree that individuals play a significant role in reducing crime.

To sum up, although people have different views, I think the government and individuals should play a role in preventing and tackling crime, since collaboration is more effective and successful when both sides work together.