Some people believe that the government should spend money on the arts. Others think that public money should be spent on more essential services such as hospitals and schools. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Whether for social development or fulfilling people’s desires, the importance of government spending is undisputable. However, when it comes to money usage for education and health or art, the debate has particularly intense. Proponents of art investment argue that art fosters creativity and promotes cultural identity, while others advocate for spending money on education and health systems, emphasizing the benefits of future quality workforce and life saving. I support the latter view, underlining the significant advantages of health and education funds.

My argument for health and education investments strongly aligns with the timeless adage: “Having good health means having everything. Without health, you have nothing”. Compare with art, which is the luxury mental need of humans, curing diseases is human basic necessity, directly affects a person’s life and his or her ability to deal with the financial burden. The case for this approach is most compelling when we consider millions suffering with poverty and hunger because their health statements do not allow them to work in order to cover life expenses. Beyond basic necessities, education funds yield far greater intellectual workers and enhance people’s knowledge. To see the significant effect of focusing on education funds, critics point to countries like South Korea and Singapore prioritizing education, leading to rapid economic growth.

On the flip side, proponents of art investment maintain that there is no substitute for the support that art brings. In essence, spending money in art can be likened to fostering minds and developing creativity, which makes humans a special creature, as well as opens up many new breakthrough possibilities. This is not exclusive to any one culture, but also a global phenomenon. For example, in Korea, famous idol groups contuniously release new concepts or songs that merge classical and modern music. Alternatively, in Japan, a nation that gained its reputation for strangeness, studios prefer producing anime that tap into unusual life events and sci-fi backgrounds. On the other hand, art fundings encourage preservation and flourishing of cultural identity. This is an important factor to manifest a nation’s face, attract foreign visitors and establish its position globally. These prospects highlight that spending money in art is an opportunity that if missed, can deprive the chance of a country’s growth.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that health and education funds are not just about ensuring the intellectual workforce for the future, but also providing prolonged life care for people. Although art investment could bring back positive impacts towards cultural enhancement and human soul enrichment, art is meaningless if people are suffering.