Some people believe that the government should spend money on the arts. Others think that public money should be spent on more essential services such as hospitals and schools. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The use of public money has always been a controversial issue. Some people believe that governments should spend more money on the arts, while others think it should be invested in public services. Both sectors are important, but I believe that spending money on public services brings more benefits to society.

On the one hand, it is important to invest in the cultural life of society. A well-developed art sector can attract tourists and bring benefits for local businesses. In general, investing in art is a long-term investment which can also support other sectors of the economy in the future. For example, many countries with a strong cultural sector also have a stable economy. These revenues can later be used to support other areas, including public services. A good example is France, where income from tourism helps the government maintain funding for different public sectors.

On the other hand, public services such as education and healthcare meet the basic needs of the population and contribute to the country’s development. Moreover, these sectors often suffer from a lack of funding, so governments should prioritise them. For instance, Scandinavian countries invest heavily in social services. As a result, they usually rank very high in terms of quality of life, education, healthcare and environmental standards. I strongly support this view because public services are a vital part of a country’s development.

In conclusion, although art is an essential part of society, the importance of public services outweighs the benefits of investing in the arts.