Some people believe that the government should spend more money putting in more works of art like paintings and statues in cities to make them better places to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Art has a significant role in the cultural and historical development of civilisations, contributing to forming societal norms and mindsets. Therefore, some argue that more pieces of art namely paintings and statues should receive larger fiscal investments and be recognised as important sites that make towns and cities more appealing to tourists. From my standpoint, I agree with this statement and regard these works of art as a monumental heritage for their local populace, not only in terms of economic benefits for the tourism industry offered but also with regard to the intergenerational educational values that are inherited and sustained.

Primarily, since traditional art partially reflects our ancestors’ lives in ancient times, it is the cornerstone for the study of history, unveiling a breadth of mysteries regarding our origins for future generations. Based on these historical traces, archeologists, researchers, and educators can convey to the youth invaluable lessons of warfare, scientific achievements, and conventional procedures, which not only boost national pride but also provide a pivotal source for education. To illustrate, a statue of Ho Chi Minh, a national hero of Vietnam who liberated its people from slavery in 1945, along with some textual descriptions concerning his biography and milestones tied to the inception of the current Vietnamese government give students a general visualisation of its admirable journey. Learning history in this way might enhance the immersive experience for students, catalysing their desire to delve deeper into such historic allure.

As a result of the exploitation of such informative insights, more tourists will be intrigued to visit the locales to fulfill their curiosity about the place, widening their horizons. A poignant example of such advantages is that Vietnam, one of the major attractions in the world, has earned billions of dollars from its tourism thanks to the unwavering demand from the global market for discovering this small, yet heroic country. Consequently, this trend propels the strides in infrastructural construction, hospitality, and accommodation, which must be tailored to visitors’ needs.

In conclusion, pieces of art, notably paintings and statues, are indeed crucial evidence that nurtures the beliefs of a people. It is paramount that authorities meticulously harness these resources for both educational and economic facets without turning them into a wasteful effort.