Some people believe that the government should take care of old people and provide financial support after they retire. Others say individuals should save during their working years to fund their own retirement. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many think that individuals should be able to provide for themselves after retirement. An opposing view believe that the government should financially assist their needs. Although some agreed that retired people are considered to be a burden in the society, the government should provide support through applicable pension programs and conduct social activities and donations to maintain social stability. This is because not every person has the same ideal financial background as imagined.

It is widely assumed that people who are retired had dedicated their life to their job, with an ideal situation where they had sufficient time to achieve a lot of savings. Younger generations think it is their time to prepare for their post-retirement plans. They think that the government don’t have to bother the elderly as they do not contribute as much to the society anymore.

Conversely, not everybody can fit the ideal condition due to the fact that some people may struggle to save some of their income. Employees who are probably a part of the sandwich generation, for instance, are demanded to fulfill their parents’ and siblings’ needs. The support from the government could come in handy for these individuals when it comes to retirement.

Based on my perspectives, the government should at least provide financial assistance through pension programs which are widely applicable for people at their productive age. Monthly taxed income, for instance, can be a plausible solution so that sufficient cash can be collected after they have retired. Charities and social activities can also be held by the local authorities to maintain the social welfare between generations, preserving a harmonious yet loving community.

In conclusion, people who have spent their life in the industry could have tried their best to save some cash for their retirement. Due to the fact that some may struggle financially to make a living, the government could provide support by collecting some of their income to be preserved post-retirement, or holding social activities and charities as other forms of support contributed by the local community.