Some people believe that the use of social media has a positive impact on individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s modern age, social media has become quite popular all over the world, especially after the COVID-19 lockdown. Thus, social media has affected people and societies’ lifestyles with some of its positives. In my opinion, the benefits of social media to society far outweigh the drawbacks.

Firstly, social media provides society with access to a vast array of information sources, while people can easily communicate with others in different social community platforms. Furthermore, informational social pages, like BBC news and Bloomberg, provide daily news and the latest information on various fields, allowing people to consume information at their own pace. Additionally, people can easily connect and communicate with loved ones using today’s current social apps.

Secondly, social media enhances online job finding and filling applications in various ways. Today, people can find jobs without any difficulty and time-spending through social media advertising like Instagram and Facebook. However, it is important to acknowledge the potential drawbacks of using social media in society. Excessive screen time can lead to health issues such as eye strain and poor posture. Additionally, social media might easily addict people, especially the youngest layer of society. Despite these concerns, I believe that the benefits of social media, when used appropriately, can significantly enhance human life.

In conclusion, while there are valid concerns about the negative impact of social media in society, its advantages in providing access to information resources and increasing people’s communication and connection outweigh them. Therefore, I strongly agree that social media has a positive impact on individuals and society.