Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment."

In modern times, the issue of punishments for committing crime has become highly controversial. There are those who say that there should a fixed penalty for committing every crime, while others believe that the guy who is involved in that crime should be accountable for his behaviour. In this essay I will discuss both sides of the argument and provide my overall opinion.

Generally speaking, there are people who believe that there should be a permanent list of punishments regarding committing crimes. If legislation regarding punishment is introduced by the government , the amount of participation in crimes will be reduced. For example, If a theif stoles someone’s bike and he got arrested by the police , he will not attempt any kind of crimes in future. The judge will sentence him based on the legislation.

Despite these arguments, there is also a case for the idea that people need to consider the situation in order to find out why the crime has participated and give punishment to the individual. They need to examine the situation and the motivation of the theft in order to find why he attempted the robbery. For instance, theifs often committed crimes because they starve for food. They begged for food every time, but there is always a little possiblilty to get food, as a result, they committed crime.

In conclusion, it must be said that, the issue of punishment regarding crimes has become a complex issue. In my opinion, the situation of the theft or robber should be judged in order to give him a punishment because people often particpate in crimes to fulfill their basic needs.