Some people believe that violence in the media, such as in television programs and films, directly results in violent behavior. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Violence in TV programs and films is thought to be the main contributor to violent behaviour. While there are several factors that result in violence , I firmly believe that media mainly leads to brutality in society through several mechanisms. Therefore, I agree with the provided statement.

First and foremost, violence in television programs and movies contributes desensitization, which is the main reason for violent attitude. To provide further explanation, individuals are bombarded with violent content in TV programs and films. Consequently, not only does this repeated and frequent exposure to aggression make individuals less sensitive towards the emotional impact of violence, but it also leads to engage in violent behaviour, consequently contributing to tolerate behaviour towards brutality. For instance, juveniles who watch films that consist of violent content are prone to becoming desensitizated, becoming less sensitive towards violence.

Secondly, media often potrays violence as a normal and acceptable way of behaving. To clarify, as media depicts brutality as the societal norm, people are prone to perceiving violence as an effective way to resolve conflicts; therefore, individuals are prone to thinking that aggression is an appropriate response to certain situations. For instance, in action movies, protagonists often solve problems by using violence and committing illegal actions, contributing to perception that violence is justified.

In conclusion, although the several factors may lead to violent behaviour, I contend that violence in media is the prime reason for the brutality in society. Media, such as TV programs and films, affects individuals through mechanisms.