Some people believe that violence in the media, such as in television programs and films, directly results in violent behavior. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals argue that violent media directly impact aggressive behavior. I strongly agree with this statement because the media can easily influence human behavior, especially among students.

Is it true that violence can be influenced not only by the media, but also by many factors, such as family background and social environment. Firstly, people who have been raised in unstable or abusive families are more likely to develop aggressive tendencies. In addition, the social environment including groups and community conditions, can strongly affect behaviour, especially when violence is normalized. For example, a study conducted by Professor Abdul Salim in 2016 at the University of Monash found that approximately, 56% from the survey of people disagree that media who talk about violence will directly impact abusive actions.

On the other hand, exposure to violent media can increase aggressive thoughts and emotions. When people repeatedly consume aggressive content on social media, it may trigger feelings of anger, and frustration. As a result, these emotions can weaken self-control and lead to impulsive actions, which may eventually result in violent behavior in real life situations. For instance, studies in many urban communities have shown a survey about students’ behaviour, 67% of the survey result are that students who consume more violent media, influence their behaviour.

To sum up, violence media are not the only causes of aggressive actions, they are also caused by family background and social environment. Meanwhile, others believe that violence media can easily affect someone’s emotions and thoughts and lead them to violence actions. I strongly believe that too much exposure on social media, especially about violent media can change someone’s behaviour and become violence.