Some people believe that watching TV is bad for children, while others claim it has positive effects for children as they grow up. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The debate over the impact of screen time on children persists seemingly without end. Although it is true to some extent that TV-viewing brings various benefits to children, my stance leans more towards the potential risk it presents.

On the one hand, it is true that watching TV offers some undeniable merits to children. Firstly, watching educational programmes helps children widen their horizons about the world they live in. For instance, useful TV channels namely Discovery Channel, Geographic not only impart knowledge about natural habitats, but also instil the responsibility of preserving the beautiful wonders of the world. Secondly, many TV shows provide valuable opportunities for language acquisition. The availability of shows in native tongue or foreign language, accompanied by subtitles and visual aids allows children to grasp more vocabulary as well as enhance language usage skill. Indeed, children in Vietnam have actively learned English from watching channels like Disney or CNN.

On the other hand, there are certain risks associated with watching TV for children. The more time spent on the screen, the more addicted to TV they might become. When children become over-reliant on television for entertainment, they might neglect engagement in outdoor activities. This may result in a sedentary lifestyle that is highly detrimental to their physical health. Moreover, children could develop behavioural problems from exposure to inappropriate contents on screen. For example, unwary young viewers could be easily swayed by captivating advertisements for junk food, products whose target audience includes children. Consequently, this may result in children’s excessive consumption of unhealthy food.

In conclusion, my opinion is that despite the educational benefits of TV viewing, the risks it poses to children need to be more concerned.