Some people believe the purpose of education is to prepare individuals to be beneficial to society. Others say the purpose of education is to achieve personal ambitions. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It has been widely discussed by the public whether the purpose of education is to increase the quality of the labor force in society or to provide a way to accomplish personal goals.

Considering social fairness, education aims to maintain the stability of society. The unbalanced allocation of educational resources can lead to drastic conflicts between people in different classes. White-collar workers can apply for copyrights and sit in comfortable offices to earn millions of fortunes, which are unimaginable incomes for diligent blue-collar workers with heavy physical work in muddy conditions. For low-income people, they cannot get rid of the yoke on them unless they use violence, such as parades and strikes, which are likely to be suppressed by the authorities. To alleviate this, education, especially compulsory education provided by the government, gives every single citizen the chance to narrow the income discrepancy. The needy children of blue-collar workers or farmers are able to receive the same quality of education as the offspring of entrepreneurs. Had it not been for education, it is the catalyst in accelerating mobility between different classes, and these problems would be able to be surmounted by personal endeavors instead of violently overturning.

From the perspective of individual development, being educated is the main method for individuals to enhance their professional skills or explore their interests. There are various types of education prepared for the vast majority of people who devote themselves to fulfilling their aspirations, whatever occupations they are carrying on and whatever age they are. Students can study in colleges to major in research of a specific field; middle-aged individuals can acquire proficient abilities by part-time learning in institutions to generate salaries, such as by finding side hustles, in order to increase their living standard; and the elderly who have already retired can explore their own interests, such as gardening in senior citizen schools, to achieve mental and psychological fulfillment. Without the essential attributes of education, the prospects for everyone are a barren land without fertility.

In my opinion, these two purposes of education are compatible and mutually beneficial. Indeed, being educated enables individuals to reach their goals and simultaneously generates groups of high-quality labor force for society. As a powerful stimulation, such a powerful injection into society accelerates the speed of social development, since every member of society has improved their skills while pursuing their dreams. Furthermore, a better and better atmosphere in efficient societies will also benefit ambitious persons, as more and more opportunities the society can provide to them, which eventually forms a virtuous cycle.