Some people claim that immigrants should adopt the local culture when immigrating to a new country. While others think that they can establish a minority community instead.Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is believed by some people that foreigners should completely blend in the local culture, while others expect them to form their own community. I believe that neither of these two statements are completely correct. On one side, it is right that immigrants adapt to the uses of the new country and not feel unwanted; on the other side, they should feel free to live their new lives as they feel more comfortable.

On one hand, it would be easier if immigrants would adopt the local uses and costumes so they could feel more included. This would be simpler if the country they come from is closer to where they move to, so that they could have similar traditions and lifestyles. For example, if a Spanish student moves to England, he or she would have a smaller cultural shock and would take them less time to adapt to their new life.

On the other hand, many immigrants move with their whole family to countries far away from their home to escape wars or poor living conditions. These children might never visit their parents’ original country, which could cause the loss of knowledge and roots of their home. For example, many Sri Lankans come to Italy and they often have very different cultures and traditions. They might feel more comfortable to have small Sri Lankan communities within Italy to sense home closer and have their children to experience their own language and culture in another country.

To conclude, immigrants often move to new countries for a better life. They should adapt to local traditions as much as they feel comfortable with, but should also free to fund their own small communities as long as they respect the law and will not damage the local citizens.