Some people claim that it is acceptable to use animals in medical research for the benefit of human beings, while other argue that it is wrong. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people hold the view that it is acceptable to use animals in medical research for the benefit of humanity, whereas others contend that it is wrong. It cannot be denied that animals suffer in these studies, but I side with those who believe that scientists cannot endanger the lives of people by testing new drugs on them.

Some are convinced that humans have no moral right to do experiments on animals. On the one hand, they are right, as animals are living beings too, they have mind too, feelings, they want to live too. The lives of animals should be respected. But, on the other hand, what are the alternative methods of research? If these alternatives exist, they may cost a lot more. Consequently, if all scientists refused animal research, drugs would cost many times more, and not everyone would be able to afford them. All of this is as if humans aim to protect animal rights, forgetting about the lives of millions of people.

However, there are also those who are convinced that animal testing helps to advance medical and scientific knowledge, and I side with this point of view. Before selling a medicine to people, it must be properly researched, all side effects must be considered. To make the results more accurate, drugs should be tested on living organisms. Almost no one wants to put their life in danger and be a volunteer. Animal organisms are similar in structure to our own, so testing is done on them. Nowadays, researchers aim to minimize the suffering that animals experience, but there is no way to avoid it completely.

To conclude, although some people believe that it is wrong to use animals in medical research, I share the point of view of those who think that it is necessary to do medical tests on new drugs, and animals help us with that.