Some people claim that the media has a negative influence on contempoary society. They think that there is very little tolerance for new ideas because of its impact. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

It is a common belief that the media has a negative effect on current society. They think that there is very little tolerance for new ideas because of its impact. I agree to some extent, but there are drawbacks as well.

On the one hand, I agree that contemporary society is harmfully influenced by the media because the information has many audiences only if it has negative elements. For instance, we can easily see on the social networks, negative images or topics are always get far more reactions than the others. This happened the same with newspapers’ front page. In today’s world, the media not only accesses through newspapers but also the Internet. This lead to children can read many negative news on the social media such as Facebook, Tiktok, and Instagram. Thus, they could be effect on both mental health and standard behaviours.

On the other hand, I disagree to some extent because if the media not exist, we will not know information from the outside world. As an example, based on the media Phu Quoc in Viet Nam was advertised to over the world and it was known as one of the most beautiful Islands in the world. Furthermore, the media also help people relieve stress after a working day. We can choose comedy series on Netflix or TV channels like HBO or CINEMAX.

To sum up, I partially agree with the idea that the media has a negative influence on today society, however it also has advantages, which cannot deny, with us.