Some people claim that there are more disadvantages of the car than its advantages. Do you agree or disagree? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having a car.

Using cars has been increasingly become common in recent years. Although I think that it claims some obvious harmful consequences of the cars, I strongly believe that the advantages of the cars can outweigh its disadvantages.

On the one hand, owning cars can have a significant influence on the environment. The first reason is that the growth in traveling by cars can lead to a rise in pollution, traffic jams and accidents. More cars are likely to result in rocketing rate of air pollution. Furthermore, petrol or diesels, the non-renewable resources, are needed to provide fuels for cars since this can be a negative impact on the environmental resources. Secondly, our dependence on cars can lead to a decrease in physical practices such as walking and cycling that are beneficial for improving health. As a result, this can cause people to suffer from more potential health risks like obesity and heart attack.

On the other hand, we cannot neglect many benefits of having a car in our daily life which can be more comfortable. First of all, the ease of transportation that a car can give is predominant than any other forms of vehicles. For example, we can go from one destination to another without wasting time that is unlike public bus or train. Therefore, time and distance cannot be barriers anymore. Secondly, having your own cars can give comfort while traveling compared to public transport. For instance, you can read a book, listen to your favourite music or even play with kids on your private car whereas all these seem to be impossible on a public bus. Finally, families can go together. This can become especially helpful for the elderly, the disabled or even the sick member in the family.

To sum up, there are a few obvious problems of using cars on the environmental pollution but having our own cars is the best choice since the benefits it can bring about can outshine all the drawbacks.