Some people consider price as the most important thing to buy a product (such as a cell phone) or service (e.g. medical treatment). Do you agree or disagree?

Price is often seen as the primary factor influencing consumer decisions when purchasing a product or service. While it is true that affordability plays a vital role in what people buy, I believe other aspects, such as quality, reliability and necessity are far more important factor in some circumstances. Thus, I disagree with the given statement and the reasons for my position is given in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, prioritizing price alone while purchasing product is often seen as poor decision making. Products or services available at extremely low price often compromise quality and durability. For instance, Internationally recognized and trusted brands like Apple or Samsung generally sell its product at a higher price segment, reason being they give their priority to quality and longevity of the products which its consumer seek rather than considering only price range to reach wider range of customers; however, their counterpart like Xiaomi or Redmi, which are less recognized globally, provides affordable products while promising the same specification that are given by Apple or Samsung. Now, many consumer would be lured by such offering of this less recognized brands and eventually the product’s quality is compromised over the period of time. Thus, making the purchase a wastage of money and time.

Moreover, there are numerous situations where price became irrelevant, especially when health and safety are involved. For instance, during a medical emergency, people would seek for the best possible medical treatment regardless the expense of the service. In medical industry, the services and assistance given are unfortunately proportional to the amount of money spent. Therefore, in those crucial period patient tends to prioritize quality, reliability and durability of the treatment instead of considering the expense of services.

However, it cannot be denied that for non-essential or frequently used items, price remains a innate consideration. For example, when buying daily groceries opting for reasonably priced yet reliable options is sensible.

In conclusion, while price undeniably influences buying behaviour, it should not be regarded as the most important factor. Factors such as quality, safety, and necessity hold greater significance, particularly in situations that affect long-term satisfaction or well-being. Therefore, a wise consumer is one who evaluates the true worth of a product or service rather than its price tag alone.