Some people fear that technology is gradually taking over control of our lives, while others think that it has led to many positive developments in all aspects of their lives. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A group of individuals present the view that modern advancements can control different aspects of our lives, whereas others believe that technology can provide us with prolific advantages. I strongly agree with the latter opinion.

On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that the advent of the internet has facilitated our daily lives. For instance, due to the widespread use of the internet, business owners presently find it easy to communicate across the world through remote employment possibilities. Furthermore, online educational programs are available for people residing in different countries. It is no longer a dream to attend live classes in a comfortable environment at home. Research at Oxford University has recently declared that those who work and study virtually are less stressed than members of society who commute to workplaces and academic institutions and are restricted by their location. The more time we spend in serene atmospheres, the less irritated we become, which is beneficial for the well-being of society.

On the other hand, another group of people claim that technological advancement has ruined everything and are terrified of its spread internationally on a daily basis. They insist that the quality of interactions has significantly declined in several respects. For example, nowadays, the public tends to have less face-to-face contact and loves communicating through social media platforms such as WhatsApp, Google Meet, and Face App. From a psychological viewpoint, having in-person relationships on a personal level is indispensable for human beings to feel wanted. This may be a particular problem for children’s social development. Today, it is evident that juveniles are eager to have a sedentary lifestyle, as they used to be seen playing out on the streets but are now too often indoors playing mostly violent computer games without any physical movement. These kinds of attributes would eventually result in many health problems such as obesity and damaged eyesight. However, I do not find this argument convincing, as all the issues can be tackled if parents take precautions. Firstly, children need to be educated not to indulge in using the internet, as waves from hi-fi devices tend to cause splitting headaches. Additionally, they have to learn that social networks provide fake interactions and that, to possess real friendships, they should trust real-world communications. Secondly, mothers and fathers have to set limits on the length of time minors allocate to playing video games with some gadgets like Xbox. They also need to teach them to counterbalance the time devoted to online entertainment and outdoor activities.

To conclude, in my view, technology is considerably profitable as it opens thousands of opportunities not only for employers but also for students. Moreover, by parents’ supervision, minor internet-related issues can be solved.