Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. While others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Excessive packaging is one of the main factors that contribute to pollution in both urban and rural environments. A solution to this problem is by attributing the responsibility for either companies to lessen packaging or for consumers to refrain from purchasing excessively packaged items. Both parties share this responsibility equally, in my opinion.

On one hand, companies must optimise their resources and supply chain to avoid needless packaging of goods. Although security is a priority when shipping products, there are better alternatives to extra layers of wrapping plastics, boxes and bags. For instance, more timed placement of items in vans, shelves, and well-distributed containers may lessen the need of paper bags, bubble wrap or carton boxes, leaving this packaging exclusively for items that are more delicate, such as food, fragile goods or medicine. Investing in a better protocol to choose which deliveries require extra contrainers may work more effectively.

On the other hand, customers have the power and responsibility to demand better conditions not only for their product, but also for the long-term service provided, including packaging. If they detect that a brand or supplier delivers their products inneficiently by adding unnecessary packaging, they must inform the manufacturer or factory about it; if no response is given, they should avoid these products. Toy makers are an example of companies that usually fail to pack their goods without generating plastic remnants out of the packaging. Avoiding these purchases might make companies more accountable for their product presentation.

To conclude, both companies and customers have a shared responsibility of both controlling exceeding wrapping and desisting from buying these products, respectively. It is a more arduous task for companies as it has logistical and financial implications; still, in the end, these actions from companies and responsible consumers will benefit the planet.