Some people feel that robots are very important to humans' future development, while others think that they are dangerous and have negative effects on the society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Write atleast 250 words.

The evolution of technology in building advanced robots is considered integral to the progress of mankind. However, a group of people do not side with this statement and believes that it could have a deteriorating impact on the society. In today’s world where robots in the form of artificial intelligence or AI is being used for almost all aspects in our lives, I believe that this advancement could be beneficial to humans in many ways. Although, it cannot be ruled as entirely negative or positive. This essay elaborates the two sides of robotics and the role it plays in our growth in the coming years.

During the initial stages, a robot could merely perform simple tasks, but today, an advanced robot can do anything a human can. From being a restaurant waiter to carrying out complicated surgeries, this mechanical person revolutinonizes the way day-to-day activities are conducted. The most important upside to this, is the setting up of a perfect workforce where human error can be eliminated to a 100%. Once these robots are programmed to a particular work, it will continue to carry it out with ease and no complaints. When compared to their human counterparts, a robot requires much less maintaince. It is also seen as cost effective because it involves only a first-time setting up cost, whereas a human in the same role will have to be paid a weekly/monthly salary. Also, there is no risk of a robot catching a cold or be in need of a vacation!

The other side of the argument puts out the fact that, more and more robots joining the workforce has resulted in increasing the unemployment especially among the youth. A study conducted by Univeristy of Columbia in 2021 showed that the use of robots in our daily function will go up by atleast 85% in the coming five years.