Some people feel that the legal age at which people can marry should be at least 21. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

According to some people, the government has to change the legal age of marriage and close the doors of register offices for those who are under 21. Although I cannot agree with this proposal, as it is not a crime to be forbidden, I do not deny that there are some pitfalls that should be born in mind.

On the one hand, everybody has the right to devote their lives to things that are important to them. Without a shadow of a doubt, it might be said that the decision to get married before the age of 21 does not burden anyone besides a couple in love, and only they will take responsibility for it. That is why there is not a compelling reason to deprive them of a legitimate right to become husband and wife.

On the other hand, taking care of relatives and a house requires an individual to be mature enough, which is impossible without valuable life experience. In other words, mental development takes some time, so a person should first learn how to deal with minor life’s obstacles before putting wedding rings on their fingers. It makes them ready for inevitable domestic conflicts and the situations where they have to put common interests above their own and look for a compromise.

In conclusion, nobody, including the authorities, should be allowed to interfere in the private lives of citizens. In spite of all the potential challenges young newlyweds may face because of their youth, it is up to them whether or not they take this step.