Some people feel that there is too much emphasis on getting an education, and that governments should spend money on leisure time activities for young people too. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education is at the center of attention. National funds should be spent on activities and entertainment for the young generation. In my opinion, this notion is firmly short-sighted for several key reasons.

There are several reasons why authorities should not allocate more funding to leisure pursuits than to the education of the younger generation, one of which is the matter of education. Education is one of the pillars of society. Moreover, investing in education yields long-term benefits for both individuals and society. For instance, providing a high-quality academic system of learning for students brings long-term benefits. A clear example of this can be seen in countries like China and Japan, where substantial investment in education has contributed to technological advancement and economic prosperity.

An equally important reason is that a strong learning system in schools encourages economic enhancement. When governments prioritize funding for education, they are contributing to an increase in the number of smarter individuals in their country. Also, intelligent people are more likely to work productively than people with low academic performance at school. If more and more people show high performance at work, it leads to economic prosperity and growth. To elaborate, countries such as China, South Korea, and Singapore demonstrate how a strong work ethic and investment in education can drive rapid economic growth.

To sum up, authorities should not prioritise free-time entertainment over the education of young people, for long-term benefits and economic growth.