Some people have decided to reduce the number of times they fly every year or to stop flying altogether. Do you think the environmental benefits of this development outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A portion of individuals have now chosen to reduce the frequency in which they travel by plane or have even halted flying altogether. In my opinion, the environmental benefits that come with this decision definitely outweigh it’s negative effects on individuals and businesses. Taking this decision prevents further damage to our atmosphere through global warming and it advocates for the ability to provide cleaner air for civilians.

Primarily, taking less flights allows for less harm done to our atmosphere as it collectively reduces the release of greenhouse gases, and thereby slows global warming. The consistent use of aeroplanes and jets releases a significant amount of greenhouse gases, such as carbon dioxide, into the atmosphere as fuel is burned within the plane’s engine. The discharge of these chemicals into Earth’s atmosphere slowly destroys our ozone, thus hindering its protection from the sun’s heat and increasing global temperatures. Thus, utilising these forms of transportation (especially privately and individually) reduces the carbon footprint being applied onto the atmosphere and slows the process of climate change and the warming of our atmosphere. This is exemplified by the fact that during lockdown after the global outbreak of Covid-19, Earth’s atmosphere had been cooler and scientists found significant improvements in the ozone’s ability to heal and protect Earth from the sun’s harmful heat rays, which is greatly due to the reduced use of air transport and jets around the world.

Furthermore, flying less encourages opportunities in which individuals have the ability to breathe cleaner air. As mentioned previously, flying burns and discharges a plethora of harmful chemicals into Earth’s atmosphere. As they settle into our atmosphere, humans (especially in urban areas with multiple jets flying above them) become more susceptible to breathing in these dangerous substances as their lungs grasp for oxygen. As these chemicals are absorbed, our bloodstreams take them in and they accumulate over time in which they eventually begin to cause health issues such as problems in breathing, heart problems, and more. For example, studies show that many individuals living within the same region as airports were more frequently admitted into hospitals for respiratory issues and diseases than individuals who did not.

Reducing one’s frequency of air travel does not outweigh the disadvantages for individuals and businesses if we consider the fact that our health (that will carry us through our old age and day-to-day life) and our aerial environment (who will help us prevent and fight off any detrimental diseases threatening the most essential organs in our body, the heart and lungs,) are the most essential instrument to our thrival as humankind over the next few generations. Therefore, it is imperative that one limits travelling by aeroplane as it can prevent dangerous environmental issues like global warming and grants us the ability to breathe in cleaner air.