Some people prefer to do most of their shopping online. This has both positive and negative effects for individuals, businesses and society. Are there more advantages or more disadvantages of online shopping? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In a time when everything is at the distance of pressing a button, it is easy to observe that a growing number of people inclined towards conducting the majority of their shopping activities through online platforms. While this habit may lead to differences in the believed quality of the bought products, which can cause a lack of trust in digital marketplaces, it is argued that the benefits of online shopping surpass the drawbacks, due to its convenience and potential to enhance business revenues.

The initial drawback when it comes to e-commerce is the possible misrepresentation of the quality of products, as customers are not able to inspect the wanted items physically before purchasing. This issue is commonly observed in virtual stores and it represents a topic that is often debated by customers not only displeased by the fact that the products do not align with the specifications presented on the platforms, but also with a fear of not being scammed again, in a future order. For example, an individual can buy an expensive perfume, from a supposedly trustworthy retailer, that can tur out to be a knock-off of the actually wanted one.

Despite the above-mentioned disadvantage, the advantages of online shopping outweigh any displeasure that these errors may cause not only for an individual, but also for the businesses and society, as a whole. Online shopping offers convenience and potential profitability for both sellers and buyers. Online sellers, particularly those with limited capital, can reduce operational costs and access a wider customer base, ultimately boosting their total revenues. Simultaneously, online shopping provides buyers with the convenience of saving both time and money as they are able to access a diverse range of products and brands that may not be readily available in their local vicinity. For instance, a person that lives in Romania can easily purchase items sold only in the United States via Amazon, a well-known online retailer.

In conclusion, regardless the existence of both positive and negative aspects of e-commerce nowadays, it is safe to say that there are more benefits than drawbacks, thereby proving to be a reliable and convenient way to shop.