Some people say it is more important to plant trees in the open spaces in towns and cities than to build more housing. To some extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that planting trees in open areas is a matter of utmost importance rather than constructing more buildings. Looking on this as a supportable argument, I tend to endorse this view in this essay.

Of course, it is an undeniable fact that in certain areas, building apartments is required more than planting trees. In other words, in densely populated areas where individuals are in need of accommodation rather than planting trees. To illustrate, a city like Tehran is considered a high-populated city, there are a substantial number of people living out of the city and working inside the city, which can be excessively time-consuming. Therefore, providing citizens in Tehran with having a house inside the city, government enables citizens to save a huge amount of time. However, it should not be ignored that such an issue can be addressed with other measures, say installing bullet train connecting cities.

On the other hand, as air pollution has become a serious issue amongst nations, planting trees in open areas can be an appropriate measure by officials rather than increasing the number of housing. To illustrate, according to research conducted in Japan, each tree is capable of reducing the effects of greenhouse gases such as CO2 and NO3 by 20 percent. Thus, the more trees are planted, the more clear air people breathe.

In conclusion, although in some crowded areas, a need of building houses should be prioritized, planting trees is a viable solution for minimizing the amount of greenhouse effect and air pollution, thereby reducing the effects of them and tackling a global challenge.