Some people say it is more important to plant trees in the open spaces in towns and cities than to build more housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an argument that we should prioritize growing plants in the wide open areas rather than exceeding building houses. To some extent, I agree with this opinion, but there are other aspects to take into account.

As the number of world’s population is increasing, housing is becoming not only demand, but also profitable business for communities. It leads a huge requirement for shelter, causing green areas to disappear as more land is used for buildings. Furthermore, reducing the quantity of trees causes to a number of global problems, such as climate change. As carbon dixode is rising in the air, addressing global warming, melting glaciries and wildfires remain a significant challenges for humanity. For example, countries like Australia, Canada and the USA often face huge wildfires caused by extreme heat and dry conditions.

Nevertheless, planting trees in the empty sites in cities may be effective way to not only serious problems, but also to save the limited sources for young generation. First of all, trees absorb carbon dioxide and release oxygen, which helps reduce pollution. Consequently, it lessens many health diseases like allergy and asthma. Secondly, this kind of actions can be really helpful to provide habitats for birds, insects, and small animals, preventing forest fires. As an example of Costa Rica, they increased protected green zones to encourage endangered species to recover their hebitat.

In conclusion, although building new houses in unused sites seems vital as a consequence of population growth , in my opinion, growing trees should be prioritized because of its benefits to people’s health and biodiversity.