Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Public opinion has been polarized on the question of whether advertising tremendously succeeds in persuading people to consume products or it is so prevalent that it can no longer be attractive to us. In my opinion, I lean more toward the viewpoint that advertisements easily attract us to buy more of their products for several reasons, which will be discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, viewers seem to ignore advertisements whenever they appear on the screen. Some of them pop up so often that they make people annoyed and try not to care about them. For instance, some admit that once a commercial appears, they would turn to another program or take a short break during that time. However, I oppose this opinion as a person can ignore that ad once but can never stop seeing that for long and the product will soon be in the shopping bag.

On the other hand, there are two main arguments for the influence of advertising to the public. Firstly, most people would buy goods which are advertised and chosen by many famous people. They assume that higher popularity means higher quality, rather than recognizing them as sponsored advertisements. Moreover, colorful images and powerful messages being admitted in commercials are the ones that attract consumers. For example, children would easily want their parents to buy the products that they see on TVs which have special graphic advertisements.

In conclusion, both sides of the argument have merits. However, I am of the opinion that commercials have a special impact on customers’ choices when there is a need to buy new products.