Some people say that all popular TV entertainment programmes should aim to educate viewers about important social issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is widely discussed that all well-known television shows should attempt to raise public awareness about social concerns. In my opinion, such initiatives by well-known entertainment shows are necessary. The main reason for my viewpoint is that the general public extensively watches all popular entertainment programmes. Therefore, by communicating a social message, they may educate people about it. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I shall explain my point of view.

These days, entertainment shows are popular among all ages and genders. Suppose TV shows focus on teaching people about social concerns in their communities. Then it’s without a doubt that it will reach the masses and subliminally inform and help people become more conscious of the country’s problems. Moreover, these messages raise awareness of social concerns such as rising crime, environmental difficulties, and many others that occur on a daily basis and pose possible hazards and threats to people’s lives. Hence it allows people to defend themselves and enhance their quality of life.

Another aspect to consider is that there aren’t enough mediums for individuals to learn about the concerns. Because the publications that usually cover these topics, such as newspapers and magazines, are not regularly read by the general public, especially young people. The best method to reach out to them and pass on information, whether directly or indirectly, is through entertainment programmes. Even if a portion of the show’s time is devoted to educational programming, this would have a ripple effect on society at large.

In a way, it might also be true that such inclusion would jeopardize the essence of the programs. However, program directors’ creativity can assist in delivering the social message while still protecting the program’s core in a unique way.

To conclude, popular entertainment programmes are the most successful means of reaching and influencing the public. Hence inclusion of social awareness segments is a laudable initiative from the program owner.