Some people say that modern innovation brings about more problems than benefits? Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that advanced inventiveness has more negative impacts on people than advantages. I agree with this to some extent. Along with technological advancements, communication has been a lot easier than before. Unfortunately, relying too much on technology sets users apart from social interaction. However, the benefits of these innovations significantly outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, innovations such as electronic devices and online platforms enhance the quality of connection and education. The result is that mobile phones provide faster communication. For instance, my home town is two days away from my current location, and despite the distance, my family and I maintain our relationship through the Internet. In addition, technology also plays a vital role in education. Traditional ways of learning were stopped during the pandemic and as a result, the old methods have been replaced with virtual learning.

On the other hand, technology, however, made it easier to connect with friends or colleagues, it still has challenges in dealing with people in person. The reason is that relying on social media too much causes social distancing. For example, research conducted by The School of Positive Psychology shows the overuse of social platforms could affect an individual’s social well-being.

In conclusion, even though modern innovations have adverse impacts such as isolation, the advantages they offer including communication and access to education are undeniable. Additionally, how they affect in particular is dependent on their choice. Therefore, I believe the advantages notably prevail over the disadvantages.