Some people say that outdoor activities bring more benefits to children’s development rather than computer games. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that doing activities outside is more advantageous to a child’s overall growth in comparison to playing games on computers. I completely agree with that argument because of the two following reasons.

Firstly, in contrast to computer games, outdoor activities allow children to reach their full physical potential. Regular exercise resulting from ball games or playground activities likely increase appetite and foster the process of metabolism that break down food into minerals and proteins, building more muscles, stronger joints and bones. By contrast, video games tend to encourage a sedentary lifestyle, slowing down both digestion and metabolism. That possibly causes young gamers to suffer from a shortage of essential nutrition and the failure to discharge noxious substances, which is a precursor to malnutrition or frailty.

Secondly, playing outsides tends to nurture important mental abilities. For example, it offers kids a chance to stay in touch with nature, observing various objects, shapes and colours in diverse sizes and positions, which would boost children’s spatial visualisation.

In addition, children seem more excited to engage in face-to-face conversation with their peers in the open air than via a laptop screen. This kind of talk is scientifically proven to be conducive to the development of verbal communication skills that are crucial for future success at school and beyond.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that outdoor games are superior to computer-based ones in facilitating both body growth and mental capabilities in children. That is why parents should encourage their offspring to spend at least a few hours a day to be at playgrounds instead of lavishing time on computers or game consoles.