Some people say that the main aim of advertising is to improve sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that the point of marketing is to boost the revenue incoming from low-demanded items. Without a doubt, many things promoted online are not exactly necessary to own. The majority of demand for such products is either artificially created by the same companies advertising them, or just heavily endorsed by celebrities.

To begin with, making people think they cannot survive without this one specific product is a common technique employed by marketers all over the world. By surrounding the item with fake demand, the promoters are able to convince people that they definitely need this particular product to cover their nonexistent needs. For instance, applying various digital marketing tools such as social media promotions ensures that the product is spoken about, and people are engaged and excited enough to believe they absolutely have to purchase it.

Moving on to celebrity endorsement, when the good is mentioned and praised by famous bloggers, simple users trust their knowledge and decide to acquire one and try it out. It is evident that customers tend to overlook the fact that bloggers get compensated to promote the products, and their opinion is biased. The research suggests that only about 25% of UGC content creators continue using the items they advertised after filming the campaign.

Ultimately, advertising pointless products is a common practice in today’s society. Social networks are full of paid-for promotions from people’s beloved idols, and the companies possess the knowledge to create artificial demand around their products. The customers are advised to be careful when contemplating whether they truly want to buy an item, and evaluate how much utility it will bring them at the end of the day.