Some people say that the main aim of advertising is to improve sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed improving the sales of products that people do not really need is the main aim of advertising. While this is true to some extent, I would argue that the main focus of advertising is not to promote the sales of unessential products.

On the one hand, there are two main reasons why some people think the main focus of advertising is to improve the sales of unnecessary products. The first reason is that people may not trust the quality of advertised products. This is mainly because the advertised items are completely foreign to them or the information about these items is not sufficient. The second reason is that most people already own these products. For example, many people, especially young people or students, already have high-tech products like cellphones, and laptops, but these goods are frequently advertised on social media; therefore, people are less likely interested in buying them.

On the other hand, I would argue that promoting the sales of unessential products is not

the main aim of advertising. First, advertising is mainly used to introduce newly-produced products rather than persuade people to buy them. That is the reason why most people do not believe these products or think that there is not enough information about the products. Second, another focus of advertising is aimed at reminding royal customers of the existing products, not convincing them to buy more. For instance, high-tech products, such as cellphones and laptops, are advertised on social media on a regular basis although these items are usually owned by numerous people.

In conclusion, some people think the main focus of advertising is to improve the sales of unnecessary products, but I would argue introducing newly-produced products and reminding royal customers of the existing products are the two major aims of advertising.