Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems

Some individuals are of the opinion that the most critical ecological problem of the modern world is the extinction of certain species of flora and fauna, while others contend that there are more vital issues. I believe that although the loss of different species of the natural world is tremendously detrimental to the ecosystems, terrific hazards such as global warming and overpopulation have more negative impact.

Worsening of biodiversity directly undermines ecosystems. Extinction of one type of species causes insurmountable changes to the food chains of a certain area, which leads to further damage. For instance, if deforestation causes a type of fruit to vanish, mammals, which rely on that fruit as a primary source of nutrition, might be vulnerable to dying out as well. Such processes can facilitate the domino effect that causes forests, hills, and lakes to become lifeless and slowly fade. Nevertheless, humanity has already become sufficient in rescuing endangered species such as snow tigers and pandas from extinction.

Mankind faces terrifying problems that need to be resolved as soon as possible. Global warming caused by human activity can destroy life on the planet in decades. If the median temperature would rise even slightly, the consequences for humanity, animals, and plants might be brutal. Melting of ice capes and glazers would raise the level of sea, drowning countries like Netherlands and UK in the ocean. Furthermore, while the land suitable for living shrinks, the rapidly growing number of people will make normal life impossible to sustain. That’s why such frightening issues are more vital to address first.

In conclusion, I believe that while the loss of biodiversity is tremendously harmful to the natural world, environmental problems like global warming and overpopulation are more significant.